Top 5 Albums Of 2012

It’s getting to the point where the end of the year is fast approaching and having gone through my music collection from this year and having glanced at the things yet to be released I’m pretty confident now in the list I’ve compiled, It has to be said this list was when I started to sort it much harder than I thought it was going to be, I would like to give an honourable mention to a couple of the albums that came close but didn’t quite make it, Bruce Springsteen’s ‘Wrecking Ball’, Soundgarden’s ‘King Animal’& Serj Tankian’s ‘Harakiri’, anyway here goes: –

5 – Mumford & Sons – Babel

Mumford - Babel

This is possibly my favourite album of the year as I have genuinely loved every minute of listening to it, but I have to say objectively although it deserves a place on this list there were 4 other albums this year in my opinion that were stronger. That being said you will struggle to find a more upbeat fun album than this from 2012 as it is impossible not to get swept up in the energy of the album.

4 – Of Monsters & Men – My Head Is An Animal

Of Monsters And Men - My Head Is An Animal - Front

If it were not for heading up to Reading Festival for the Sunday this year I would in all probability not even know who Of Monsters And Men are, having been impressed by them at Reading I decided to check out the album and was suitably impressed so much so I’ve booked tickets to go see them again in Portsmouth next March!

3 – Billy Talent – Dead Silence

Billy Talent - Dead Silence (Album Cover)

Up next is Billy Talent’s Latest offering, a definite return to form after the slightly disappointing ‘Billy Talent III’, full of great riffs and the vocal harmonies that make the band so special/instantly recognisable, a real gem of an album.

2 – Cancer Bats – Dead Set On Living

CB - DSOL

Without doubt the heaviest offering in this list, when this album was first released I actually literally could not stop listening to it for about 2 full weeks, there is not a bad track on this album and was a serious contender for the top spot but it was just edged out.

1 – The Gaslight Anthem – Handwritten

TGA

So that brings us to what I believe to be the best album of 2012 much like the previously mentioned album I don’t believe there to be a bad song on this album and once again spent 2-3 weeks of my life listening to it and although I do agree with my brothers point that it doesn’t perhaps flow quite as well as their previous albums it is probably their most complete sounding album and takes my personal top spot this year!

PDC

Leave a Reply

