Bombay Bicycle Club – ‘A Different Kind Of Fix’ – Review

Bombay Bicycle Club return with their third album in as many years ‘A Different Kind Of Fix’ and once again a new album brings a new direction. Debut album ‘I Had The Blues But I Shook Them Loose’ was a really indie driven record, follow up ‘Flaws’ was an acoustic folky offering whereas the new album sees them plug the guitars back in and this time embellish them with synths, sampled loops and layered vocals. ‘A Different Kind Of Fix’ absolutely oozes confidence, it is much more atmospheric, the band have developed a more layered sound that was completely absent on the full-band debut and with lots of subtle flourishes here and there, this is the kind of album every listen reveals something new.

Opening track ‘How Can You Swallow So Much Sleep’ has been re-recorded since it appeared on the soundtrack to The Twilight Saga: Eclipse. This reworking has been to bring it in line with the sound of the rest of the album, there are not many bands that would go near a song fans have known and loved for more than a year, this new re-worked version however is full of the sort of swagger that suggests Bombay Bicycle Club knew exactly what they were doing. Lead single ‘Shuffle’ is placed mid album and is a really vibrant up-beat affair, kicking off with looped piano samples it contains some brilliant vocals, lively drums and hand clap percussion and an extremely catchy chorus, ‘Shuffle’ is truly a feel good anthem. Album closer ‘Still’ is genuinely nothing short of stunning, composed of just a haunting piano track and Jack Steadman’s solo vocals and some reverb; it is a brilliant conclusion to what is an all round great album.

Bombay Bicycle Club’s refusal to keep still or even think of resting on their laurels could have been a dangerous move, as too many releases together in a short space of time could lead to a drop in quality and an overload in people’s perception. This however has not become an issue for Bombay Bicycle Club as the continue to evolve and stay fresh on each album, they deserve every bit of success that is created by ‘A Different Kind Of Fix’ as this is an extremely accomplished album and judging by it’s content the best could still be yet to come.

Rating: –


Tracklisting: –

1. How Can You Swallow So Much Sleep
2. Bad Timing
3. Your Eyes
4. Lights Out, Words Gone
5. Take The Right One
6. Shuffle
7. Beggars
8. Leave It
9. Fracture
10. What You Want
11. Favourite Day
12. Still

Recommended Tracks: –

‘How Can You Swallow So Much Sleep’, ‘Shuffle’, ‘Still’



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s