Music News – 21/06/2011

I start with the sad news of Bruce Springsteen & The E-Street Band saxophonist Clarence Clemons’ passing Saturday evening. His death stems from complications from a stroke suffered just a week earlier. Springsteen posted the following “Clarence lived a wonderful life. He carried within him a love of people that made them love him. He created a wondrous and extended family. He loved the saxophone, loved our fans and gave everything he had every night he stepped on stage. His loss is immeasurable and we are honored and thankful to have known him and had the opportunity to stand beside him for nearly forty years. He was my great friend, my partner, and with Clarence at my side, my band and I were able to tell a story far deeper than those simply contained in our music. His life, his memory, and his love will live on in that story and in our band.” Clemons would have turned seventy in January, my condolences go out to his family, friends, and other loved ones.

Rick Rubin has been speaking about the progress and direction of the new album from Metallica which will once again see him resurrecting his role as producer. Speaking about the Metallica record (the actual Metallica album, not the ‘Loutallica’ project with Lou Reed), Rubin has revealed that the band are: “about to start writing, and I had a meeting with Lars in San Francisco to explore what the focus was going to be this time around. I’m still sort of thinking about what that is going to be. I’ll ask a lot of questions and we’ll probably listen to some of the riffs that they’ve been writing. Usually I’ll hear something that will sort of indicate the direction and then we’ll talk about it from there.”. I for one am extremely interested to see what the new album turns out like after the frankly brilliant Death Magnetic album.

Finally this week Laura Marling has announced details of her new album the follow up to the 2010 ‘I Speak Because I Can’, set to be released on September 12th it’s entitled ‘A Creature I Don’t Know’ and has been produced by Ethan Jones. She is expected to debut new tracks from the album in her performance at Glastonbury this coming weekend.

PDC

Leave a Reply

